New for 2024, this walk explores the history and heritage of Faithlegg through the eyes of those who have lived, loved and/or died in the parish down the centuries. Walk schedule will be published in spring and booking via Eventbrite
Faithlegg was one of the first parishes to be founded following the Norman conquest and the lands were given to a Bristol merchant and ship owner named Aylward. The family was later deposed after the Cromwellian invasion and the lands granted to the Bolton family. The Boltons built Faithlegg House, and were replaced by the catholic Mahon Powers in 1819. This family was replaced by the De La Salle order in 1936, and in 1999 the house and farm opened as a hotel.
This walk will explore that history through the eyes of those who lived here. And not just the wealthy elites, but farmers, gardeners, ladies maids, saints and sinners.